https://www.totalwar.com/blog/develo...dding-in-mind/

“BY HELPING OUR FUTURE MODDERS WE ALSO HELPED OURSELVES”: DEVELOPING TROY WITH MODDING IN MIND

SAGA

Ella McConnell

October 30 2020

Those of you who have been chomping at the bit when it comes to modding will be pleased to know that A Total War Saga: TROY is one of our most easily moddable games yet – but why, and what made the team decide to develop the game with modding so firmly in mind?
We chatted with Creative Assembly Sofia team members Anton Cholakov, Mihail Balabanov, and Radoslav Borisov about their personal views on modding, the ways in which TROY has been made more accessible to modders, and top tips for modders old and new – check out what they had to say below!

Click to enlarge
CA: Hi there! First of all, could you please introduce yourselves?
Anton Cholakov: Hello to everyone! My name is Anton Cholakov and I am a gameplay and AI programmer on Total War from the Creative Assembly Sofia studio.
Mihail Balabanov: Hi, my name is Mihail Balabanov, and I am a principal gameplay programmer at Creative Assembly Sofia.
Radoslav Borisov: Hello, my name is Radoslav Borisov, and I work as a game designer on Total War in the Sofia studio.
CA: Tell us about some of your personal experiences with modding other games.
Anton Cholakov: I haven’t modded games myself but I have tweaked the configuration files of a game or two, which might count as “modding”, I guess.
Mihail Balabanov: I am not a modder myself. I have tinkered with the editors of a few strategy games, like StarCraft and Battle of Wesnoth, which later helped me on the developers’ side.
Radoslav Borisov: My personal experience with modding is mostly around doing script work in Blizzard games. I started out helping with custom maps in Warcraft III, and moved on to writing addons for World of Warcraft after that.
CA: What are your thoughts on modding games generally? Do you think it’s an integral part of the player experience in the case of some games?